Everyone does this right? Make a dozen versions of the pattern you’re testing ’cause you love it so much?!?! Well, I made three versions of this fun pattern, that I was so excited to have been picked to test. Its the Tutu Twirl Tunic by Winter wear Designs.

image

The Tutu Twirl tunic, as the name goes is a T shirt tunic with a super awesome twirl factor. With a relaxed fit and a fully gathered skirt, its the perfect play time outfit. I used a cottpn jersey knit from Jo Ann fabrics for the bodice and the floral is a rayon spandex that I got from Girl Charlee some time last year.

image

image

For my second version that I couldn’t wait to get started on, I used this last bit of quilted knit left over from a different project and a coral stretch lace from Hobby Lobby.

image

image

I am loving the wide Tshirt hem on this pattern! and the twin needle stitching adds such a neat finish.

image The pattern actually comes with 5 fabulous cut files for use with heat transfer vinyl on the cutting machine, or for a freezer paper stencil with fabric paint to decorate the bodice. I don’t have a cutting machine, but after seeing Suzanne’s versions, I am tempted to get one (its expensive though 😦 ) I had to make do with this lace heart that I handstitched on the bodice, I do love it though!

image

I really could’ve stopped at 2 but this is such a quick sew and great for our daily park dates, I went ahead and made another one and who knew this is her favorite!

image

She calls it her ‘strawbaby shirt’. She’s such a girl girl, everything has to be PEEENK!

image

image

image

I am not usually comfortable gathering huge amounts of fabric and for that reason prefer circle skirt options. But, I recently came across this tip of holding the thread taut while doing a basting stitch which automatically gathers the fabric, the tighter you hold it, the closer the gathers will be. Once you’ve figured out a quick way to gather the skirt part, you can’t stop making these darling Tutu twirl tunics.

With all the sleeve options (sleeveless, half and 3/4th length) and range of sizes (1-16), this is going to be a staple in our wardrobe for a long while. Go on grab this pattern, the little girls in your life will love this tunic!!!

Happy sewing!

5 thoughts on “Tutu Twirl Tunic – Pattern Test

Leave a comment