We tested yet another exciting new pattern in the past week – The Linden Shorts & Skirt by Sew a Little Seam.

Cited from the listing ‘The Linden Shorts & Skirt Pattern is loaded with options perfect for both boys and girls. There are two short lengths; long is designed to hit at the knee, while the short version hits just above mid thigh. The pattern also comes with a skirt option that hits just above the knee. All versions come with multiple hem finishes, three front pocket and four back pocket options, an optional back yoke, and three waistband choices. You can create so many different looks with just one pattern!

image

I made a muslin in corduroy, and loved the pattern and instructions so much that I had to make another one in stretch denim. On a quick trip to Jo Ann fabrics for snaps, I was distracted by this LOVELY tie dye floral denim and I dropped everything else to wash, cut and make this mini skirt.

image

Kelly’s instructions are outstanding and I cannot say enough about how well she explains the construction and several seam finishing techniques. When a pattern is as detailed as this, you want to try everything right? For this version, I did the back yoke, curved pockets, back patch pockets with top stitching detail and flat front waistband with heavy duty snaps and faux fly.

image

I love all the top stitching detail that is included in the pattern, I used a contrasting thread but I should also have used proper top stitching thread for it to show prominently.

image

For the top, I used the bowlittle top pattern by George & Ginger Pattern Co. and love how it pairs with the Linden skirt 🙂

image

I love that PDF patterns are such great teaching resources while also providing us patterns to create beautiful garments. I learnt some new sewing techniques from the Linden Shorts & Skirt pattern that helped me advance a little more in my sewing journey. Definitely give this pattern a shot, you just might love it!!!

Happy Sewing!!!

4 thoughts on “Linden Shorts & Skirt – Pattern Test

Leave a comment