I have only recently started sewing complete outfits for my daughter and while I am happy sewing dresses and leggings, I have not yet ventured into making cardigans, coats and jackets for her. I was hoping to make her a cardigan (mommy and baby matching cardigans actually) this season.

When I saw the tester call for the fishtail kimono, I knew I had to try it and I am so glad I did. With design features like soft draped sleeves, gathers at the back and a hi-lo hem, the fishtail kimono was the perfect pattern for my little’s first cardigan.

The Fishtail Kimono is a well laid out, beautifully drafted pattern with every fine detail taken care of. The instructions along with the pictures make for a very smooth sailing and quick sew. Gabriela includes some great sewing and finishing techniques in this pattern, with options and instructions to adjust the sleeve and body lengths, finishing the hems by a hem facing or a rolled hem, and the option to add an all-in-one neckband or a neckband with a facing to add a button and loop closure. The pattern also has some great features like layered sizes and no-trim pages making it a breeze to print and assemble in no time.

For this first version,  I used a light weight rayon jersey from Girl Charlee.

image

She’s awesome at being photographed when the mood to pose strikes. She’ll even turn her back and stand poised until she’s sure we’ve gotten enough pictures of the back.

image

I love how dainty it looks with the gathers at the seam and the hi lo hem.

image

image

image

For the second version, I used a shimmery striped sweater knit from Joann fabrics.

image

The Fishtail Kimono PDF pattern comes in sizes XXS (18-24 months) to XXL (12 years). It can be made in knits like rayon blends and sweater knits as well as wovens like chiffon and georgette making it a versatile all season pattern that is an absolute must have!

This is Chalk and Notch’s first pattern release, and based on what a high quality, detail oriented pattern the Fishtail Kimono is, I can’t wait to see what other patterns they come up with! Check out Gabriela’s amazing chiffon and georgette fishtail kimonos and more tester versions over at Chalk and Notch, and while you’re at it, make sure you get a copy of your own.

14 thoughts on “Fishtail Kimono

Leave a comment